9categories of sake


True sake uses only water, rice which is rated grade 3 or above and koji with an alcohol content of 1 – 22%. This sake is then divided into nine categories, according to polish ratio and the inclusion (or otherwise) of distilled alcohol.

For example, the category of Ginjo is made from rice with a polish ratio of 60% and has had distilled alcohol added.  Only Junmai category sake does not have any polish ratio requirement.

The eight other sake categories are shown in this chart (see this 8categories).All other sake, which has no requirements of rice quality or polish ratio, is called futsushu.



Related articles
Popular articles
Facebook Page



Sake Experience並びに当社ロゴは、Sake Experience Japanの登録商標です。

(C) 2021 Sake Experience Japan. All right reserved.
"Sake experience" is a registered trademark of Sake Experience Japan., Ltd.